Posted on

Photo by Eddie Kasparian

L.A.-based hard rock duo Satellite Citi has self-released their latest full-length effort Fear Tactics. The 10-track album showcases the band’s evolution and further cements their reputation as the next band to break big.

Helmed by producer Brad Wood (Smashing Pumpkins, Placebo, Liz Phair, Touche Amore), Fear Tacticssonically features a wide range of inspiration from Black Sabbath to Muse to Halestorm. And the message of the album thematically centers around the importance of mental health, while also representing the band’s own struggles of coping with fear and anxiety, even more apparent in today’s culture.
As Huffington Post has previously declared of the band, “Satellite Citi are on the road to delivering audiences with music that tackles important issues that our society is facing today.”
Their latest singles highlight this focal point for the band. Released in May, “Empath” is centered around the five stages of grief – Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance – and aimed to help end the stigma surrounding mental health. The acoustic version of the song premiered via MXDWN here:
In late 2020, Satellite Citi also released “Antibody,” featuring Crobot’s Brandon Yeagley, dedicated to the people of Armenia and bringing awareness to the latest attacks on the country beginning in late September 2020 that killed hundreds of innocent civilians and displaced thousands more. See the evocative music video premiered by Loudwire here:
The band, featuring drummer/vocalist Anna Gevorkian and guitarist Shaunt Sulahian, are both Armenian-Americans born and raised in Los Angeles. They first launched Satellite Citi in 2015 and Fear Tacticscontinues their promising trajectory.
Fear Tactics track listing
  1. Fear is the Mind Killer
  2. Getaway
  3. Black Magic
  4. Reaper (featuring Deadskull)
  5. Awake
  6. Empath
  7. Smother
  8. Miscommunication
  9. Lay Me Down
  10. Antibody (featuring Brandon Yeagley of Crobot)
Fear Tactics can be ordered via the band’s Bandcamp page:
Here’s what media have to say about Satellite Citi:
The alt-rock duo shatter expectations –American Songwriter
Expect to hear a lot from this dynamic, up-and-coming Los Angeles duo over the next few years. –MXDWN
[They] tackle dynamic lyrics and look to deliver music that one can only describe as deeply honest and surprisingly personal, all while exploring an excitingly refreshing rock n roll sound. –Alive N Loud
To celebrate the release of the album, Satellite Citi will host an all-ages album release show at Troubadour in West Hollywood, CA on Saturday, September 4. The bill also features Love Ghost and supporting acts Chasing Desolation and Hvnted.
Tickets are $15 in advance and $20 at the door, and a percentage of ticket sales will be donated to Sweet Relief Musicians Fund and the Check Your Head Podcast in support of mental health and music industry professionals in need. Buy tickets here:
A regular fixture on the stages in their hometown of Los Angeles, Satellite Citi is joined live by two anonymous Spacewalkers on bass and guitar that further taps into the band’s curiosity of other realms and advanced life forms. The band’s name, in fact, is based off of the idea of a city, outside of our galaxy, where people communicate with their minds.
In addition to music, Anna and Shaunt love video games and writing—they are currently working on their first original sci-fi graphic novel called Spacewalker with former DC editor Jim Higgins, that will coincide with a new concept EP in 2022. Satellite Citi also has five songs featured in the recently released rock documentary Long Live Rock…Celebrate The Chaos, directed by Jonathan McHugh, that features bands such as Metallica, Korn, Slipknot, and Rob Zombie. The trailer can be viewed HERE. As well the band’s song “Getaway” is featured in the new show “The Freak Brothers,” starring Woody Harrelson, John Goodman and Tiffany Haddish.
Find Satellite Citi Online
Official Website:

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.