Posted on

On June 19, Deadline Music (a subsidiary of Cleopatra Records) will release the rare fifth studio album from Spiders & Snakes, the storied Sunset Blvd. band fronted by Lizzie Grey.  Packaged with bonus tracks from the original 1980 London demo featuring Nikki Sixx of Motley Crue and Nigel Benjamin of Mott the Hoople, this LONDON DAZE release is finally celebrating the unsung legacy of Lizzie and his place in Hollywood rock music history.

LONDON DAZE was originally released in 2000 through Deadline/Cleopatra Records, but a series of epically unfortunate events, including a paperwork glitch with the label’s distributer and most horrifically the unexpected death of bassist Leigh Lawson just four weeks after the album’s release, prevented it from reaching the masses.  The band had to cancel its entire U.S. tour to support the record, and the LONDON DAZE CD sat dormant in a warehouse in the Midwest as the band was forced to re-group.  “This album is like a time capsule.  It’s not just nostalgia; it never got its chance, so it’s actually new.  In mint condition!” said Lizzie.

Lizzie likes to say he has the Midas touch, but not on himself.  For decades in bands like London, Sister and St. Valentine, he’s collaborated with people who have gone on to luminous careers, including Izzy, Steven, Slash, and Axl (Guns ‘n Roses), Blackie Lawless (WASP), Fred Coury (Cinderella), Nigel Benjamin (Mott The Hoople) and Desi and Lizzy (D’Molls).  Most notably, he penned “Public Enemy #1” which went on to be a calling card for Nikki and Motley Crue.  With one foot firmly in the Sunset Strip and the other in punk, Lizzie has kept the creative wheels turning and never gave up on the enduring power of rock ‘n’ roll.

Given this history and influence, Lizzie has been featured in “The Metal Years” and VH1’s “Metal Evolution series.  On LONDON DAZE, Lizzie says, “Anyone into motivated Hollywood street rock will be getting their money’s worth.”

In addition to Lizzie on vocals and guitar and the late Leigh Lawson (bass), Spiders & Snakes is Doug E. Sex (guitar) and Timothy Yasui (drums, percussion, backing vocals).


  1. London Daze
  2. Nonstop Rock
  3. Party in Hollywood
  4. Radio Stars
  5. Don’t Know When To Stop
  6. Public Enemy #1
  7. Run, Run, Run (Jo Jo Gunn cover)
  8. Elvis’s TV
  9. Rock And Roll Queen  (Mott the Hoople cover)
  10. 2000 Rock & Roll

Bonus Tracks:

Original 1980 London demo featuring Lizzie Grey, Nikki Sixx, and Nigel Benjamin

11. Nobody Loves You Like I Do
12. Straight From The Heart
13. Dream Girl

“Public Enemy #1” MP3

“Public Enemy #1” video

LONDON DAZE will be in stores and online retailers for MSRP of $6.98.  Spiders & Snakes will be performing summer shows, including headlining the Glitter ‘n Glam Rock Fest at the legendary Whisky a Go Go on June 17.

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.