Posted on

EpicaThis past March, female-fronted Dutch symphonic metal band celebrated their 10th Anniversary with a spectacular “One Night Only” sold-out concert at the Klokgebouw in Eindhoven, The Netherlands with five thousand fans in attendance.  Named Retrospect, it’s ’s self-professed “longest & biggest show ever.”  Accompanied by the 70-piece Extended Reményi Ede Chamber Orchestra and the Miskolc National Theatre Choir, ten high definition cameras captured this very special show while played an unforgettable three hour, career-spanning set featuring both newer songs and never-performed tracks.

Unleashed,” the first clip taken from Retrospect, is now available for viewing on YouTube:

EPICA’s guitar player Isaac Delahaye comments:

“We hope you enjoy watching this first Retrospect song. ‘Unleashed’ is just a killer live track, and it contains all the EPICA elements you’re looking for. I still enjoy playing it night after night, and it keeps my headbanging skills sharp!”

The pyro-filled & lightshow-studded evening also included special guest appearances by fellow Dutch metal frontwoman, the venerable Floor Jansen (NIGHTWISH, REVAMP) and EPICA founding drummer Jeroen Simons, founding guitarist Ad Sluijter, and founding bassist Yves Huts performing on the band’s breakthrough single ‘Quietus’ from the band’s 2005 album Consign To Oblivion.

In addition to the collection of EPICA of hits from their entire catalog, the Retrospect DVD also features instrumental covers of classics by Italian Baroque composer Antonio Lucio Vivaldi, Italian composer Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, and the Oscar-winning film composer John Williams.

This live 2-DVD/3-CD retrospective – which includes a 48-page booklet, exclusive interviews with all EPICA band members, and behind-the-scenes footage from the show – will be released in North America on November 26th.

The track listing for Retrospect is:

01 – Introspect

02 – Monopoly On Truth

03 – Sensorium

04 – Unleashed

05 – Martyr Of The Free Word

06 – Chasing The Dragon

07 – Presto

08 – Never Enough

09 – Stabat Mater Dolorosa

10 – Twin Flames

11 – Serenade Of Self-Destruction

12 – Orchestral Medley

13 – The Divine Conspiracy ~Anniversary Edition~

14 – Delirium

15 – Blank Infinity

16 – The Obsessive Devotion

17 – Retrospect

18 – Battle Of The Heroes & Imperial March

19 – Quietus

20 – The Phantom Agony

21 – Cry For The Moon

22 – Sancta Terra

23 – Design Your Universe

24 – Storm The Sorrow

25 – Consign To Oblivion

26 – Outrospect

EPICA’s 2012 studio album, Requiem For The Indifferent, debuted at #104 on the American Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and can be purchased online from the Nuclear Blast Webshop.

Visit EPICA online at




What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.