Posted on

PALLBEARER cd art 6-5-14Little Rock, AR’s recently wrapped recording on their new full-length, Foundations Of Burden, which will officially be available August 19th from Profound Lore Records. Foundations Of Burden is the follow-up to 2012’s monumental release, Sorrow & Extinction, which was praised by outlets such as Pitchfork, Decibel, SPIN, NPR, Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly, Stereogum, and countless others. On this new album, have created an album much more advanced, moving, and sonically glorious than their debut, continuing the band’s ascent from the doom metal scene into the mainstream music world.
Formed in 2008 by Joseph D. Rowland (bass) and Brett Campbell (vocals/guitars), grew from the fertile underground metal scene of Little Rock, AR. A year after their formation, the band released their first three-song demo (with guitarist Devin Holt), which garnered well-deserved attention. went on to release Sorrow & Extinction in early 2012 on well-respected Canadian indie label Profound Lore, and instantly made waves among listeners and critics who found the band’s compositional paradox of vulnerability and might unparalleled in the metal world. Sorrow & Extinction proved to be an unequivocal masterpiece in any genre of music and compelled Pallbearer to reach even further creatively for what would come next.
 Fast forward to February of 2014 as Pallbearer headed to Portland, OR (with drummer Mark Lierly) to Type Foundry Studio with legendary producer/engineer Billy Anderson (Neurosis, Melvins, Sleep, Swans) to lay down six tracks that would become Foundations Of Burden. This new album delves even deeper into Pallbearer’s melodic contexts, which adds a new and compelling dimension to music which has long since proven itself to be inexorably captivating; if Sorrow and Extinction created massive waves in the metal scene, Foundations Of Burden will create the stuff of legends.
Now, Pallbearer are gearing up for the release of Foundations Of Burden on August 19th and will kick off the album cycle touring alongside throughout the month of June in the U.S., including a stop at Pitchfork’s Northside Showcase in Brooklyn June 12th as well as a scheduled appearance at Fun Fun Fun Fest in November, with more tour dates and festival appearances to be announced soon in support of Foundations Of Burden.
Song premieres and pre-order information coming soon – in the meantime, keep up with Pallbearer on Facebook and check out the band on the road.
Foundations Of Burden Track Listing:
1. Worlds Apart
2. Foundations
3. Watcher In The Dark
4. The Ghost I Used To Be
5. Ashes
6. Vanished
8 Boston, MA @ Sinclair *
9 Philadelphia, PA @ Barbary *
10 Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel *
11 Richmond, VA @ Canal Club *
12 Brooklyn, NY @ Europa – Pitchfork Northside Showcase
15 Miami, FL @ Churchill’s *
16 Orlando, FL @ Backbooth *
17 Tampa, FL @ Crowbar *
18 New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jack’s *
20 St. Louis, MO @ Firebird *
21 Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick *
22 Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *
23 Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock *
24 Lawrence, KS @ Granada *
26 Houston, TX @ FItzgerald’s *
27 Austin, TX @ Red 7 *
28 Dallas, TX @ Club Dada *
10, 11, 12 Antwerp, Belgium @ Desert Fest
7, 8, 9 Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest
* w/ , Wreck & Reference
PALLBEARER group shot 6-5-14

One thought on “Foundations Of Burden, The New Album From Pallbearer, Coming August 19th

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Screamer Magazine Tank Tee or Vee