Posted on

Reigning as of the most well-known and highly critically acclaimed experimental instrumental groups out there with a respected musical legacy spanning nearly 20 years, four-piece  just reached a career benchmark with the release of their critical acclaimed 10th album,  Tapes #10, a little over a month ago.
Now, the has released the fourth official for “In Flux”, taken from  Tapes #10. The six-minute piece of contains a sample taken from the US Propaganda campaign “Operation Wandering Soul”, in which US forces used eerie sounds and altered voices, with the intention of pretending to be killed Viet Cong, to instill a sense of turmoil and fear. It features of the ’s most challenging time signatures, needing time to unfold before it sticks in the listener’s head. The song comes together with a stunning and artsy black and white that perfectly underlines the overall vibe of “In Flux”.

Tapes #10 is certainly the most ferocious  full-length to date – it still retains all the rich musical and emotive elements the is known for by wheeling around luminance, but offers harsh and deep reminiscences as well. Works of like “Burial”, “In Flux” and “Barren Trees”, with additional guitars by Jimmy Scanlan, amongst others, are proof of these creations of sound. The ’s closer, the atmospheric “Luminous Waves”, captivates in a trance-like mindset – putting deeply in touch with their inner self, drifting away to stirring tunes of guest cello virtuoso Jo Quail.
The was illustrated by David Rooney, who has worked with the in the past, and plays into the sense of the foreboding and uncertain times we in.  Tapes #10 is available as a four-page digipack as well as in multiple limited LP options.
1.    Adrift
2.   Burial
3.   In
4.   Spectres
5.   Fade
6.   Barren Trees
7.   Luminous Waves
Tapes #10 is available in the following formats:
–   LP Gatefold BLACK
–   Four-page CD Digipak
Torsten Kinsella – Guitar, Piano/Synths
Niels Kinsella – Bass
Lloyd Hanney – Drums
Jamie Dean – Guitar, Piano
Follow GOD IS AN ATRONAUT on Social Media:

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.