Posted on


HAKEN - cd art - 5-9-16-based progressive band have released their much anticipated new album ‘Affinity’, and to celebrate they have launched a for the track ‘Earthrise’ which you can watch below.

Recorded during the months of 2015, ‘Affinity’ marks a new approach to the song-writing process for , as vocalist Ross Jennings explains; “It is the most collaborative we have ever been on an album. We to develop and expand our sound by having every member contribute initial ideas from the very beginning of the process. It naturally takes longer to through the mass of material and fit it all together coherently, but this approach has helped to create something completely fresh whilst maintaining the core elements of Haken’s sound.”

The once again called upon Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Devin Townsend, Between The Buried And Me) for mixing and mastering duties. “He is a wizard in this department! We are always confident his mix will bring out the best from our performance and this is no exception,” remarks keyboardist Diego Tejeida.

Like much of Haken’s previous music, ‘Affinity’ is full of surprises and ‘The Architect’, the album’s centrepiece, is no exception. Blasting through a dizzying array of instrumental insanity coupled with -tempo atmospheric tenuity, welcomes friend and frontman Einar Solberg mid-song for a spot of guest vocals! Just of many twists and turns throughout this 60-minute musical lobotomy, Haken’s ‘Affinity’ will open a new dimension in this sextet’s trajectory.

‘Affinity’ will arrive as a Limited Edition Media Book (incl. bonus disc with instrumentals), 180g Gatefold 2 LP Edition (incl. on CD), Standard CD Jewel Case, and Deluxe Download (incl. instrumental version of the as bonus).

The full track-listing for the is as follows:

  1. affinity.exe [1:24]
  2. Initiate [:16]
  3. 1985 [9:09]
  4. Lapse [:44]
  5. The Architect [15:0]
  6. Earthrise [:48]
  7. Giant [6:06]
  8. The Endless Knot [5:50]
  9. Bound By Gravity [9:29]

The has also confirmed their first European dates, and you can find those below:

25.05.16  Bristol, The Fleece [UK]

26.05.16  London, The Garage [UK]

27.05.16  Zoetermeer, Boerderij [NL]

28.05.16  Verviers, of 66 [BE]

29.05.16  Paris, Divan du monde [FR]

30.05.16  Pratteln, 7 [CH]

31.05.16  Lyon, Marché Gare [FR]

02.06.16  Barcelona, Razz 2 [ES]

03.06.16  Madrid, Caracol [ES]

04.06.16  Peralta, Minnuendo [ES]

06.06.16  Milan, Legend Club [IT]

07.06.16  Munich, Backstage [DE]

08.06.16  Karlsruhe, Substage [DE]

09.06.16  Aschaffenburg, Colos Saal [DE]

10.06.16  Berlin, Maschinenhaus [DE]

11.06.16  Warsaw, Progresja [PL]

12.06.16  Gdynia, Klub Atlantic [PL]

14.06.16  Stockholm, Bryggarsalen [SE]

15.06.16  Oslo, John Dee [NO]

16.06.16  Copenhagen, Spillestedet Stengade [DK]

17.06.16  Hamburg, Logo [DE]

18.06.16  Cologne, Gebäude 9 [DE]

19.06.16  London, Stone Free Festival [UK]

25.06.16  Tel Aviv, Gagarin [IL]

26.06.16  Tel Aviv, Havana Club [IL]

17.07.16  Joensuu, Ilosaarirock [FI]

Support on headline dates comes from Arkentype (all dates), Special Providence (25th May- 6th June) & Rendevous Point (7th June – 18th June).


What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.