Posted on

James LaBrie - Impermanent ResonanceAfter his much acclaimed “Static Impulse” release in 2010, Dream Theater frontman returns with a powerful new studio album entitled “Impermanent Resonance,”to be released August 6 in North America and July 29 in Europe via InsideOutMusic.

“Impermanent Resonance” was once again conceived with LaBrie’s songwriting partner for over a dozen years, Matt Guillory. Guillory not only took the leading role in composing the material, he also handled all of the keyboards and background vocals.

The album’s lineup is intact from the previous recording, featuring Marco Sfogli from Italy on guitar, Ray Riendeau (Halford, Machines of Loving Grace) on bass and Swedish drummer Peter Wildoer (Darkane, Majestic, Arch Enemy, etc.), who was a finalist in the Dream Theater drum auditions. Additionally, former Soilwork guitarist Peter Wichers came into the foldto contribute songwriting and studio guitars.

“To me this album incorporates and continues with the styles and musical direction that we have created with the previous releases,” says . “The difference being that the music on this disc is to me a true telling of the songs evolving and taking on a sense of identity that is every band’s ultimate goal. It is powerful, memorable, hook-driven and above all extremely musical. It shows how the writing and the band itself have matured. I truly feel that this is our quintessential album.”

“Impermanent Resonance” was once again mixed and mastered at Sweden’s Fascination Street recording studios (Kreator, Opeth, Paradise Lost, Symphony X) with Jens Bogren and this time also Tony Lindgren. Visually, Canadian LaBrie hooked up with Gustavo Sazes / (Arch Enemy, Firewind, Kamelot, etc.) to capture and translate the album’s atmosphere into the striking artwork.

Some of the songs included on “Impermanent Resonance,”which combines the heaviness of Gothenburg-sound influenced progressive metal with the catchiness of contemporary rock, are “Agony,” “Back On The Ground,” “Undertow,” “I Got You” and “Amnesia.”

More details about the upcoming new album and first sound samples will be revealed soon…

“Impermanent Resonance” Line-Up:
– Lead Vocals
Matt Guillory – Keyboards, Background Vocals
Marco Sfogli – Guitars
Ray Riendeau – Bass
Peter Wildoer – Drums, Screams

Selected James LaBrie Solo Discography:
Keep It To Yourself (MullMuzzler) – 1999
MullMuzzler 2 (MullMuzzler) – 2001
Elements Of Persuasion – 2005
Static Impulse – 2010
Impermanent Resonance – 2013

James LaBrie online: 

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.