Posted on

Mekong Delta - In A Mirror DarklyIt’s the hoped-for complex and ambitious album, and of course we wouldn’t have accepted anything less from . Like few other contemporary groups, the German progressive thrash metal band surrounding mastermind and bassist Ralf Hubert continues to stand for innovation and independence in 2014. All those looking for pure mainstream or mediocre muzak have to look elsewhere – score again with their intelligence, unwillingness to compromise and courage. Their new album is called In A Mirror Darkly and picks up thematically where its 2010 predecessor Wanderer On The Edge Of Time left off. “For me, music doesn’t start with A and end with Z, it’s an ongoing process,” Ralf Hubert explains. “In this respect, you could call the continuation of the Wanderer theme, but it’s no copy, it’s an independent recording. Each Mekong album sounds unique and forward-looking in the original sense of the term. As a composer, I consciously allow myself to drift to be able to consistently explore new horizons.”

Martin LeMar (vocals), Ralf Hubert (bass, classical guitar), Erik Adam H. Grösch (guitar) and Alex Landenburg (drums) have recorded a total of eight songs for In A Mirror Darkly, among them three instrumental numbers like the classical guitar intro or the ingenious ‘Inside The Outside Of The Inside’ with its diverse arrangements. “Typically , the new numbers all have a playing time of between five and seven minutes. As far as I am concerned, that’s just the right time frame to gain sufficient stylistic depth without pushing the envelope or creating artistic ambiguities,” band founder Ralf Hubert explains the initial parameters of the new album. “I feel that we’ve once again found the right mix of complexity and uninterrupted leitmotiv.”

So you it’s obvious: the high artistic standards that Hubert has set for himself and his band are also reflected in terms of his music’s themes and stylistic direction. For almost thirty years, MEKONG DELTA have enjoyed an excellent reputation as an independent and exceptionally creative band in the world of progressive metal sounds. Albums such as The Music Of Eric Zann(1988) and Pictures At An Exhibition (1997) are considered classics of their kind. With their blend of prog metal, classical elements and thrash, the musicians are considered pioneers of a stylistic mix which has been emulated by a considerable number of epigones. There can be no doubt: fits in perfectly with this list of influential albums.

In A Mirror Darkly will be released in Scandinavia on April 23rd, in Germany on April 25th, in Europe on April 28th and in the USA on April 29th through SPV/Steamhammer as CD, double gatefold LP with colored vinyl plus CD in cardboard sleeve and download.

In A Mirror Darkly Track Listing:

1. Introduction

2. Ouverture

3. The Armageddon Machine

4. The Sliver in Gods Eye

5. Janus

6. Inside the Outside of the Inside

7. Hindsight Bias

8. Mutant Messiah


For More Info Visit:

One thought on “Mekong Delta to Release In A Mirror Darkly April 29th

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Screamer Magazine Tank Tee or Vee