Posted on

Photo Credit: Greg Pallante

Jersey City, NJ’s , the brand new rock quartet featuring Jared Hart of The Scandals and Benny Horowitz of The Gaslight Anthem, are pleased to announce the Friday, October 19 release of its forthcoming debut album titled . Being released on the band’s Mt. Crushmore label and recorded at Little Eden in Asbury Park, NJ with Pete Steinkopf of The Bouncing Souls, is a propulsive 12-song showcase written from an outside perspective of different aspects of a linear life: Growing up, the people who shaped you, the people who let you down, the people that are still here, and the things we struggle with daily in our minds. The album’s lead single, “Chips and Vics,”  references this internal tension via the type of discord found within a very personal relationship. Pre-order the album HERE and stream the song now on Noisey, Bandcamp, SoundCloud and Spotify

Four friends from New Jersey decided to come together over the past year in a basement. Over their countless meetings in the shadow of Manhattan in Jersey City, the four members of Jared Hart (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Rocky Catanese (lead guitar), Nick Jorgensen (bass) and Benny Horowitz (drums) – pushed their creative limits through endless riffs and backbeats, and in the process, the band was born. 

While navigating topics as heavy as the air in that tight basement, these musicians blended their individual styles into a unique and wistful sound that moves one’s soul. From the driving & sweeping centerpieces, “Young Dionysians” and “Silver Dollars,” to the dreamy, romantic twang of “Layovers,” is influenced both by the timeless music of the band’s home state as it is the classic tradition of punk, soul and Americana music. There is something familiar about the music presented here; it’s not quite déjà vu or nostalgia but it harkens back to the music cherished during one’s formative years. The Quarry washes over you – it is nothing you’ve heard before and has the comfort you didn’t know you needed. Hart had the following to share about the album and what it represents to him:

“‘The Quarry’ embodies the human thought process. It represents the ability to look at your
life and memories from the outside, and hopefully gain some perspective. These songs
explore elements of worry, gratitude, loss, and self-worth. It’s a record I’ve been hesitant to approach until the right pieces fell into place.”

With an infinite number of miles under their collective belts, thanks in part to their previous projects which include The Gaslight Anthem, The Scandals, and Let Me Run, sought to road-test The Quarry immediately. In the months that followed the recording of the album, the band supported acts such as California’s Racquet Club (feat. members of Samiam, The Jealous Sound), John Nolan of Taking Back Sunday, The Menzingers and Dave Hause on various tours and one-off gigs. Mercy Union has recently been shredding around the Northeast and will be performing at The Fest in Gainesville this fall.

Mercy Union will be making the following appearances this August and October. Dates below with much more to be announced soon.

25 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom (Summer Strummerjam w/ Jesse Malin)

18 – Garwood, NJ – Crossroads
26-28 – Gainesville, FL – The Fest

The Quarry track listing:
01. Young Dionysians
02. Fever Dreams
03. Chips and Vics
04. Baggy
05. Silver Dollars
06. Layovers
07. Reverse
08. Accessory
09. A Lot From Me
10. Twenty Seven
11. The Quarry
12. Remember When

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.