Posted on

Misery SignalsAfter five long years since their last release, Milwaukee metal band Misery Signals will return on July 23rd with one of the year’s most anticipated albums, Absent Light.  Today, the band has officially announced the album title, release date, album artwork and upcoming record release tour in July and August.

Foregoing the traditional record label release model, Misery Signals launched an Indiegogo campaign in March to work directly with fans to crowd-fund the new album by offering unique funding packages that included handwritten lyrics, vinyl box set, music lessons, listening parties and more.  By May, the band had not only reached their funding goal, but had surpassed it by double the amount.  The support was a definite sign that fans were eagerly awaiting new music from the seminal band.

“We were floored by the excitement from the people supporting the album,” guitarist Ryan Morgan says.  “It’s a good feeling to have an audience matching the enthusiasm we are putting into it’s creation – and they haven’t even heard it yet!  It’ll all come together when they get to hear how insane this album is.”

Misery Signals got their start in 2002 and quickly gained notoriety after signing with Ferret Music to release 2004’s critically acclaimed record Of Malice and the Magnum Heart; an album which breathed fresh life into the their genre with the band’s signature style of aggressive riffs, melodic bridges and atmospheric elements and went on to be one of the most influential metalcore album’s of the last decade.  Over the next several years the band released two more albums, Mirrors (2006) and Controller (2008), which were both equally praised by the metal community and further cemented their place among metal’s elite bands.

After Ferret Music was absorbed by a Warner Music Group in 2010, Misery Signals were left to fend for themselves and took a hiatus to pursue individual side projects with singer Karl Schubach focusing on metal outfit Solace, guitarist Ryan Morgan founding the hardcore/punk band Burning Empires and drummer Branden Morgan starting The Company We Keep with Brian Southall (The Receiving End Of Sirens) and Justin Pierre (Motion City Soundtrack).

Now, the band that redefined a genre will return reinvigorated with a full time focus on the business at hand, and a determination to push the boundaries of hardcore-metal even further than before.

Misery Signals will kick off their record release tour in July with dates running through mid August.

Follow Misery Signals at for additional news and updates.

Misery Signals’ “Absent Light Record Release Tour” Dates:

July 9 – New York, NY – Santos Party House
July 10 – Boston, MA – Middle East
July 11 – Montreal, QC – Underworld
July 12 – Toronto, ON – Mod Club
July 13 – Guelph, ON – Club Vinyl
July 14 – Hamilton, ON – Club Absinthe
July 15 – St. Catharines, ON – Level 3
July 16 – London, ON – Rum Runners
July 17 – Chicago, IL – Reggies Rock Club
July 18 – Milwaukee, WI – Miramar
July 19 – Burnsville, MN – The Garage
July 28 – Salt Lake City, UT – The All Stars Tour
July 30 – Phoenix, AZ – Martini Ranch
July 31 – San Diego, CA – Che Cafe
Aug 1 – Anaheim, CA – Chain Reaction
Aug 2 – Camarillo, CA – Rock City Studios
Aug 3 – Sacramento, CA – Boardwalk
Aug 4 – Portland, OR – Branx
Aug 5 – Seattle, WA – Studio Seven
Aug 6 – Vancouver, BC – Roxy
Aug 7 – Kelowna, BC – Level (upstairs)
Aug 8 – Calgary, AB – Dickens Pub
Aug 9 – Edmonton, AB – Avenue Theatre
Aug 11 – Regina, SK – The Exchange

For More Information:

One thought on “Misery Signals Announce First New Album In Five Years, ‘Absent Light’

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.