Posted on

red_band_smTwo-time GRAMMY-nominated, rock group RED stormed the Billboard Top 200 Chart landing into the Top Ten (#7) for the second time last week with their fourth album RELEASE THE PANIC (Essential/Provident/Sony). Today, Wednesday, February 27, the Nashville-based foursome premiere the video for the hard-driving first single “Perfect Life” on VEVO. Watch the clip for the song which ArtistDirect hailed by saying the group carries “a massive stadium-size refrain into crossover territory,” while Revolver magazine added that the track is “an anthemic heart-pounder…” (February 2013).

RELEASE THE PANIC is gaining a critical mass as RED’s best effort to date. In a four-out-of-five star CD review, Revolver magazine noted, “Release the Panic should catapult RED to the high ranks of today’s top radio-rock acts, a destination they rightfully should have reached years ago.”  (February 2013) Rick Florino of ArtistDirect raved, “RED continue to craft heavy, hypnotic, and heartfelt heard rock on their fourth full-length album. Release the Panic expands upon their patent sound with a more immense and immersive scope. …All said and done, it’s one of the most epic, entrancing, and engaging hard rock albums of 2013 and RED’s best work yet.”  (February 4, 2013) Elsewhere, Mind Equals Blown called out their “…excellent balladry and swift hooks. ‘Hold Me Now’ is not only one of the record’s strongest cuts, but it should stand as one of Red’s top soft songs to date.” (February 11, 2013) HM Magazine added in a four-out-of-five star review, “Heavy-hitting tracks like ‘Damage’ and the title track–which are some of the hardest songs RED has written-will please any headbanger while ‘Hold Me Now’ and ‘So Far Away’ are the melodic ballads that will move your heart. ‘Perfect Life’ and ‘Die for You’ are quality rock songs sure to garner mainstream radio play.” (February 2013)

To record RELEASE THE PANIC, the group–Michael Barnes (vocals), Anthony Armstrong (guitar) Randy Armstrong (bass) and Joe Rickard (drums)–teamed with producer Howard Benson (P.O.D., My Chemical Romance, Daughtry) at his brand-new West Valley Studios in Los Angeles. RED have delivered a potent set of standout songs that were mixed by Benson and Mike Plotnikoff including “Perfect Life,” “Die For You,” “Release the Panic” and “Same Disease.” RED is currently on tour this winter/spring for the Winterjam Arena Tour. Expect the group to announce a nationwide U.S. spring tour soon.

RED’s RELEASE THE PANIC track-by-track on ARTISTDirect: .

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.