Posted on

RED TIDE RISING - cd art - 4-27-16Hard rock upstarts have enlisted the services of world class drummer Glendon Crain (John 5’s Loser, Hollywood Undead, gODHEAD) as they take to the road with Sevendust and Crobot.  Crain fills in for the band’s regular drummer, Matt Guerin, who will be unable to join the band on this run due to him celebrating his honeymoon.

Kansas City native Crain began his music career with Capitol Records recording artists, The Feds, whom he played with from 1995 – 2001 before transitioning to the band Loser, featuring Rob Zombie / Marilyn Manson guitarist, John 5.  After his stint with Loser (2001 – 2004) he found himself doing time with goth metal act gODHEAD from 2005 – 2007 after which Hollywood Undead came calling from 2008 – 2010.  Glendon also formed but no longer plays with All Hail the Yeti.  On teaming up with , he says, “I’m very excited for the opportunity to fill in on drums for , The resolve to create quality music is very apparent in this group and that in turn pushed me to bring out the best I’ve got. We hope to see you guys out on the road with Crobot and the mighty Sevendust!”

On Crain’s coming aboard for the run, guitarist, Andrew Whiteman says, “I’m super psyched to have Glen Crain filling in for us on this tour!  He’s a badass drummer who also happens to be friends with our buddy Mike Luce from Drowning Pool and he’s a great fir for this run. He brings it every night and we mesh as if we have always been in a band together.”

’s Voices EP, which was produced by Drowning Pool drummer Mike Luce, is out now through Vanity Music Group The Kill the Flaw 2016 Summer Tour dates are:

02 Aug – Bloomington, IL – Castle Theatre
03 Aug – Minneapolis, MN – Mill City Nights
05 Aug – Sturgis, SD – Full Throttle
06 Aug – Ft. Collins, CO – Aggie Theatre
07 Aug – Salt Lake City, UT – The Complex
09 Aug – Regina, SK CANADA – Conexus Convention Hall
10 Aug – Calgary, AB CANADA – Marquee
11 Aug – Edmonton, AB CANADA – The Ranch
12 Aug – Saskatoon, SK CANADA – Saskatoon Events Ctr
14 Aug – Winnipeg, MB CANADA – Burt Cummings Theatre
17 Aug – Toronto, ONT CANADA – The Opera House

Relevant sites:


Matthew Whiteman – Lead vocals
Andrew Whiteman – Guitars
Michael LeBois – Bass
Matt Guerin – Drums

Colorado quartet Red Tide Rising have a point to prove and with their latest release, Voices, it comes across loud and clear. Tired of being the bridesmaid, the band has decided that all attention needs to be directed towards themselves and delivering a five song piece de resistance as a whole, rather than only trying to focus on “hits.”

While the quartet’s last release, the Billboard charting ’The Rising,’ broke new ground for the band, it’s the bonecrushing ugliness of the real world that comes to light on Voices and takes the band to a whole new level. “Voices consists of the best music we have created as a band,” says frontman Matthew Whiteman, an air of certainty about him. “We did so many different things in the studio that altered the RTR sound this time around. One of them was the vocal effects. We were able to capture a very heavy machine like vocal tone that adds another layer to the sound.”

Voices is fueled by rage, the realities of life and the ugliness of the world we live in.  Opening track, “Writing on the Wall” is about making sure you don’t allow yourself to be held down by your past. “You’re Nothing” is dedicated to the asshole who repeatedly tells you how great his life is, all the while living a complete facade. With “Suffocate” lead vocalist, Matthew Whiteman touches on the different types of addiction we all carry with us through life, whether they come from the pursuit of material possessions, giving into to drug culture or whatever one may be attached to.  “Sound of the Screaming” gives an audience the power to rise as one, while the EP’s closer, “New Breed” instructs the band’s fans to distance themselves from people who claim to have their best interests at heart while leading them down a road that will eventually lead them to a life of peril.  A call to arms for people to stand up for themselves.

Red Tide Rising has been a professional working band for eight long years now.  Take into account that lead vocalist and resident protagonist Matthew Whiteman is all of 21 years old and his cohorts aren’t much older – we will let you do the math on where they all were in life when this band took shape.
Produced & co-written by Drowning Pool drummer Mike Luce (with the exception of “You’re Nothing” which was co-written with Luce and Ill Nino guitarist Ahrue Luster), the Denver quartet had formed a kinship with Luce in the winter of 2014 when they slugged it out across the United States on a six week tour that took them coast to coast. “Aside from our run with In This Moment a little while back, our first taste at unrelenting touring was with Drowning Pool,” relates guitarist, Andrew Whiteman. “We shared the bus and formed some of the best friendships out on the road. To this day I am actually still a tech for them. It’s because of that run and that friendship, that Luce decided he wanted to produce .”

Working with engineer Jeff Kanan (Madonna, Kelly Clarkson, Jeff Lorber) at The Keep Studio in Denver, Voices is unrelenting in its brutality, and yet, polished and commercially accessible at the same time. “I was so excited to go into studio with Jeff again!” exclaims Andrew. “He is a total pro behind the board, but more importantly he is very easy to work with. The studio can be stressful, but working with him, especially on this project, made recording one of the easiest and most creative processes I have experienced. The songs speak for themselves, they came out perfect.”

6 thoughts on “Red Tide Rising Pulls In Former John 5 Drummer Glendon Crain For Sevendust / Crobot Tour

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.