Posted on

BLACK STAR RIDERS frontman RICKY WARWICK is set to release not one but TWO new solo albums next month. When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues) and the beautifully acoustic Hearts On Trees will be released as a double CD on 26th February 2016 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. As Ricky decided to record two separate albums, we decided to quiz him on two tracks off each album – watch as he discusses ‘The Road To Damascus Street’ and ‘Celebrating Sinking’ off his electric offering, When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues), below:

Watch the official video for the catchy anthem ‘Celebrating Sinking’, below:


Ricky commented on the track: “Andy Cairns from THERAPY? has been one of my closest friends for many years and we have shared some great adventures. We are also both Belfast lads. We had been planning to write a song together for years and this album was the catalyst for that. Andy sent me the title and the chorus and I built the rest of the song around. ‘Celebrating Sinking’ is about keeping your feet on the ground and not forgetting your roots!”

Listen to the title track off the electric album, When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues), below:


The artwork for the double albums reflects the tone of each – When Patsy Cline Was Crazy… showcases the electric rock and roll side of Ricky, while Hearts On Trees veers more towards tender stripped-back songwriting, influenced by both Americana and, more importantly, Ricky‘s Northern Irish roots.

RICKY comments, Hearts On Trees and When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues) were written by myself and my good friend Sam Robinson, both albums depict our experiences of growing up and coming from the Greater East Belfast area, not only experiences that have happened to us but historical references and stories that have been told to us by friends and family… in saying that both albums translate those experiences on to a global scale that hopefully anyone geographically can relate to.”

The release boasts an array of acclaimed musicians with guests such as; Joe Elliot (DEF LEPPARD), Damon Johnson (THIN LIZZY/BLACK STAR RIDERS), Andy Cairns (THERAPY?), Billy Morrison (BILLY IDOL), Nathan Connolly (SNOW PATROL), Ginger WildheartJake Burns (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS), Richard Fortus (GUNS ‘N’ ROSES/THE DEAD DAISIES).

Pre-order the double CD HERE

Track list and formats as follows:
Ricky Warwick - When Patsy Cline Was CrazyDouble CD 
CD1 When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)

01. The Road To Damascus Street
02. Celebrating Sinking
03. When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)
04. Toffee Town
05. That’s Where The Story Ends
06. Johnny Ringo’s Last Ride
07. Gold Along The Cariboo
08. The Son Of The Wind
09. If Your Not Gonna Leave Me (I’ll Find Someone Who Will)
10. Yesteryear

Bonus Tracks
11. Ghost Town Road
12. The Whiskey Song
13. Tank McCullough Saturdays (Electric Version)

CD2 Hearts On Trees

01. Presbyterian Homesick Blues
02. Tank McCullough Saturdays
03. Psycho
04. Hearts On Trees
05. Said Samson To Goliath
06. Way Too Cool For Snow
07. Schwaben Redoubt
08. The Year of Living Dangerously
09. Disasters
10. 82

Bonus Tracks
11. Love Owes
12. I Can See My Life (From Here)
13. The Ugly Truth
14. Hell Or Highwater
15. Eight Bells (Demo)

Visit RICKY WARWICK online:

6 thoughts on “RICKY WARWICK Discusses Two Tracks Off His Electric Album (video)

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.