Posted on

On July 3, Cleopatra Records will release the fifth studio record from Pittsburgh, PA-based melodic metallers Icarus Witch.  RISE is an epic twelve-track display of songwriting and musicianship from one of the most-watched heavy music bands of the decade.

From the driving, anthemic “(We Are) The New Revolution” to its equally commanding following track “Rise,” Icarus Witch demonstrates impeccable harmonies, head-spinning dual guitar work, and hammering rhythm.  Lyrically, the band is digging deep into themes of control (loss of, and taking it back), empowerment (within and without), and faith (and keeping it).

Says Jason Myers, “On RISE, all restrictions of what we could or could not do were removed. The result is a completely fresh approach, new territory being explored, more diversity, better energy, by far the biggest progression in songwriting in the band’s history. This album took courage to create. We certainly didn’t take the safe or expected route and know that we’re rolling the dice with some bold moves.”  Continues Tom Wierzbicky, “This was a very unique album that we put together. There were times where you would be pulling from the other side of the spectrum, sometimes taking yourself out of your comfort zone.”

By supporting artists as diverse as Black Sabbath, Paul DiAnno (as backing band as well), Cinderella, Twisted Sister, Otep, Doro, Fuel, and Coheed & Cambria, Icarus Witch has earned a large international fan base that consists of hardcore headbangers, hip art rockers, and indie kids.  In August, the band launches a tour with Earache Records’ White Wizzard and Pure Steel artist Widow.

9 – The Riot Room – Kansas City, MO
10 – TBA – Minneapolis, MN
11 – MoJoe’s – Joliet, IL
12 – TBA – Detroit
, MI
14 – TBA – Ottawa
, ON
15 – Katacombes – Montreal
, QC
16 – Wreck Room – Toronto
, ON
17 – Broadway Joe’s – Buffalo, NY
18 – The Studio @ Webster Hall – New York
, NY
23 – Kingdom – Richmond, VA
24 – Berkeley Cafe – Raleigh, NC
25 – The 120 Tavern – Atlanta, GA 

Since their debut in 2003, Icarus Witch has inspired the enthusiastic endorsements like “one of the best bands to carry the standard triumphantly into the future!” from Metal Hammer. Heavy-hitters from the melodic rock and metal worlds have guested on past Icarus Witch albums, including Joe Lynn Turner (Deep Purple/Rainbow), George Lynch (Dokken/Lynch Mob) and Michael Romeo (Symphony X). On RISE, the band stands on its own debuting a new vocalist, drummer, and second guitar player, which heralds a new era with a big, boldly fresh sound that Don Jamieson (That Metal Show) has called “KILLER! A great sign of things to come.”

Icarus Witch is Christopher Shaner (vocals), Quinn Lukas (guitar), Dave Watson (guitars/keys), Jason Myers (bass), and Tom Wierzbicky (drums).

RISE Track Listing:

  1. The End
  2. (We Are) The New Revolution
  3. Rise
  4. Asylum Harbour
  5. Coming Of The Storm
  6. Tragedy
  7. Say When
  8. Break The Cycle
  9. Nothing Is Forever
  10. Pray
  11. In The Dark
  12. Last Call For Living


“Rise” streaming track

RISE album trailer

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.