Posted on

Oakland, CA trio Super Unison have premiered a music video for their new song “You Don’t Tell Me” today via She Shreds Magazine.  The premiere partnership should come as no surprise; the song opens with the lyrics “Listen here little girl…” and touches on an incident where bassist/vocalist Meghan O’Neil Pennie had to deal with a man speaking down to her.  The video features candid clips of the band and plays off of the concept of the “male gaze,” where women are depicted through men’s POV as it relates to real life.  O’Neil Pennie commented, “I do think it reflects the objectification of women.  My favorite line [in the song] is ‘pay attention and try to look cute’ because I feel like if a man is speaking down to a woman and trying to teach them something unsolicited, they’re expected to bat their eyelashes and thank him.”

“You Don’t Tell Me” appears on Super Unison’s forthcoming album, Auto, which will be released on October 14th through Deathwish IncAuto was recorded at Atomic Garden Studios by Jack Shirley (Oathbreaker, Deafheaven, Loma Prieta) and is concise and intense with most frantic songs coming in at the two minute mark. Within AutoSuper Unison introduce a wash of discordant melody and texture into the fray, keeping things fast paced and smartly aggressive at every twist and turn.

Super Unison features Meghan O’Neil Pennie (formerly of PUNCH) on bass and vocals, Justin Renninger (formerly of Snowing) on drums, and Kevin DeFranco on guitar. Formed in 2014, they released a self-titled EP on vinyl and cassette formats soon after. The EP was incredibly well-received and praised by publications far and wide, from Rolling Stone to Brooklyn Vegan. The band toured the western portion of the USA following the EP’s release, which included shows with Shook Ones, Self Defense Family, Coliseum, Dogs on Acid and more. As veterans of the Bay Area scene and beyond, Super Unison have become known for their incendiary live show in their relatively short time as a band thus far.

Following the release of AutoSuper Unison will tour the west coast, down and over to The Fest in Gainesville on October 30th.  More info coming soon.

Super Unison - AutoSuper Unison, Auto Track Listing:

  1. Prove Yourself
  2. Keeper
  3. Losing You
  4. You Don’t Tell Me
  5. Luxury
  6. Time & Distance
  7. Muted
  8. Broken
  9. What Are You Going To Do
  10. Don’t Look Up
  11. Everything
  12. Auto



October 21  Oakland, CA @ 1,2,3,4 Go!

October 23  Los Angeles, CA @ All Star Lanes

October 24  Tempe, AZ @ 51 West

October 25  El Paso, TX @ DIY Punk Haus

October 26  Austin, TX @ Shirley’s Temple

October 27  New Orleans, LA @ Neutral Grounds

October 28  Birmingham, AL @ Firehouse

October 30  Gainesville, FL @ The Fest 15 at The Atlantic

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.