Posted on

Garage Rock duo, THE DODIES, have released their behind the scenes lyric video for single “Sell Out” off of their debut album It’s One Hell of a Ride.

Please get in touch if you would like to interview the band or review the record!

The Dodies – Sell Out (Lyric Video) can be seen here:

“I wrote Sell Out after our old band toured and back-lined with an Israeli pop star when we were teenagers. At the time I didn’t really see it as selling out even though the whole project was obviously more about money than music. But as I grew older I was very ashamed of the matter and realized we were taken advantage of. Many promises were made, none came to life” says Yoni.

He adds, “It’s hard defining what a sellout is, since some people take pride in what others might be deeply ashamed of. Compromising my beliefs for a momentary satisfaction is selling out for me, but it’s hard understanding what my beliefs are in the first place. Our beliefs surely have changed since our teens when we played for insensitive idiots. One of the problems with social network today is that something you might not stand by when you come of age is still out there for people to see. That’s at least one of the reasons “social network tends to make me ill.”

Ran adds, “To me, the inner conflict many artists have to face is what fuels Sell Out. Every time we play it, I can feel the tension between two opposites. It confronts a contradicting reality – authenticity against fakeness, aggression against vulnerability, fulfillment against repression. We let it all out chaotically.”

THE DODIES are a young garage rock duo from the southern desert of Israel. Yoni Avittan fronts the band as lead vocalist and guitarist, as Ran Aronson sings backing vocals while simultaneously playing bass lines on keyboard with one hand and playing the entire drum kit with the other.

In February 2020, THE DODIES premiered their whimsical video for single “Boiling Point” (watch it here: from their upcoming debut album It’s One Hell of a Ride due out on April 24, 2020. The album is produced by THE DODIES and co-producer Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal (Sons Of Apollo / ex-Guns N’ Roses).

THE DODIES songs jump head-first into depression, alienation and rage, contrasted by hooky riffs and catchy melodies. They’re a band that puts high importance on artistic integrity and uncompromising authenticity, always giving their full spirit in the studio and on stage.

“I was called in to co-produce a demo they were recording at a studio in Texas, end of 2018. I was blown away – great songwriters, performers, and lots of personality. Yoni (guitars/vocals) is a poetic uncompromising artist. Ran (drums/keys/backing vocals) plays the entire kit with his right arm while simultaneously playing bass on a synth with his left hand, and singing backing vocals, and does it effortlessly. Together they’re a sight to be seen” says Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal.

Thal adds, “They put very high importance on integrity, everything being authentic in expressing who they are, I respect that a lot. My role was to make that happen. I flew out to them to record the full album. We recorded the music at a local studio, then recorded vocals and extras (tambourine, foot stomps, kicking rattling amps…) at Ran’s house (I brought over mics and an interface). We did it all with no click track, no re-amping, no drum triggers, no auto-tune – just the two of them playing together, capturing the spirit, on their gear, everything in just a first or second take. We worked as a team the following months mixing, tweaking, obsessing over details until it was ready. I can truly say, I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt so much heart and had so much fun producing a band, I want to see these guys go on to have a great future, and am grateful to be here at the start of it all.”

1. Boiling Point
2. Sell Out
3. Alien
4. Suleyman
5. Circles
6. Suburban Nights
7. Comfort Zone
8. Pussy Riot
9. Sweet Solitude
10. Stuck
11. Buffoon
12. Dysthymia
13. Goodbyes

The Dodies are:
Yoni Avittan – Singer / Guitarist
Ran Aronson – Drummer / Synth Bassist / Backing Vocalist

For More Information Please Visit:

Official Website

Merch Store


Apple Music




What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.