Posted on

THREE TRAPPED TIGERS - promo - 1-27-16

“TTT is at the cutting edge of contemporary music. Watch your fingers!”  – Brian Eno

Los Angeles, CA | January 27, 2016 – Today, almost five years since the release of their acclaimed debut album, ‘Route One or Die,’ London’s has announced the release of their second full-length album, ‘Silent Earthling,’ due April 1, 2016 on . To accompany the announcement, they have also released the title-track from the forthcoming album, which can be heard below and here:



On the evolution of , Matt Calvert – the group’s guitarist and keyboardist – posed the question, “I think the problem for anyone striving to create their own sound is, once you – hopefully – have achieved that, how do you expand that whilst maintaining it?” In this instance, the answer is apparent within the glorious, eclectic, and exhilarating ‘Silent Earth,’ and album that carries forward the unique idiosyncrasies that the group has shaped for themselves, whilst simultaneously expanding into previously unexplored territory.

For the unacquainted, is a band for which genres and labels struggle to keep up, they move – often at breakneck speed – between screeching, effect-laden guitars, an arsenal of glistening sci-fi synths, pummelling sub-bass, colossal riffs, and audacious drum patterns that both underpin and define their unique sound. As anyone who has seen their incendiary live shows will know, trying to pinpoint what makes the group such a force is a difficult thing to do. On stage they are something of a vortex, creating a swirling mass of layered sounds that sucks one in, possessing that rare ability of managing to sound complex and fluid whilst eschewing any feelings of pomposity or sterility – in full force feel both gracefully intelligent and wildly primal, gargantuan yet melodic.

The group has also announced a string of UK tour dates to celebrate the album’s release. A full list of dates can be seen below.

UK Tour Dates:

17 April – Hug and Pint, Glasgow

18 April – Think Tank, Newcastle

19 April – Fibbers, York

20 April – Buyers Club, Liverpool

21 April – Deaf Institute, Manchester

22 April – Bodega, Nottingham

23 April – Rainbow, Birmingham

25 April – Purple, Reading

26 April – Boileroom, Guildford

28 April – Scala, London

30 April – Craufurd Arms, Milton Keynes

2 May – The Lantern, Bristol

3 May – The Haunt, Brighton

9 May – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds

10 May – Portland Arms, Cambridge

About Three Trapped Tigers:
In the five years since the band’s debut, they have moulded the new record through a combination of touring and live experiences, including playing with the likes of and , as well as a well as a rich and impressive series of collaborations and personal projects that have augmented the group’s palate. The group worked with Brian Eno and Karl Hyde of Underworld, using Brian’s ‘Oblique Strategies’ during the writing stages of ‘Silent Earthling,’ something that proved an invaluable way of forcing the group out of their comfort zones. Through Brian they also performed at Punkt Festival in Norway and played an improvised collaboration gig in Oslo with their synth hero Ståle Storløkken of Supersilent. Calvert and the group’s drummer, Adam Betts, currently form the backbone of The Heritage Orchestra, and have recently been part of some truly unique projects: an electro-orchestral, multi-media reworking of Joy Division material; performing the Blade Runner soundtrack; and also performing the Music of Giorgio Moroder at Sydney Opera House. They also played Goldie’s album Timeless at the Royal Festival Hall. In fact their musical explorations have been so vast and varied they’ve even found themselves working with the likes of Roots Manuva, Skepta and JME. Keyboard player Tom Rogerson has even taken the Brian Eno connection to the next level and a collaborative album with Brian Eno is due later this year.THREE TRAPPED TIGERS - cd art - 1-27-16

As impressive as their work outside of the band is, it’s where it has led them to on this record where it’s impact can really be felt: shimmering sci-fi explorations, rich cinematic landscapes, pulsing electronics, mammoth riffs, and pounding drums. “Some of the tunes are quite aggressive, some are poignant, some are just dumb, rocking fun… I guess we have tried to refine our sound whilst keeping it vital and exciting,” Calvert says when trying to pinpoint some of the developments the band have taken, with Rogerson adding, “Matt has produced and mixed quite a few records in the intervening years, and his production chops are much stronger, so we’ve ended up with tracks which are far more sonically detailed than previously, which means it’s all a bit more Technicolor… when I listen to it, I still think that we don’t really sound like anyone else – even if it’s an unholy jumble of all of our tastes – which is as good a reason as any to make music.” Some of the most noticeable developments can be found through the duality of refinement and expansion; here we have less blaring noise and more melody, deep-set grooves, unshakable hooks and much more electronics. On the title-track they nod subtly to Death Grips via Hudson Mohawke; on ‘Engrams’ they employ a sort of quasi-jungle salvos; ‘Kraken’ takes on a pounding doom-laden tone; whilst ‘Hemisphere’ sees them ditch guitars altogether to create something cinematic in scope, infused with roomy keyboards, mechanical drums and glistening flashes of synth that somehow feel both emotionally rich and warm, yet also cold, dystopian and eerie – like all the best sci-fi films.

If Three Trapped Tigers have managed a continuation of their sense of personal tone and character – then another aspect that they have brought with them on this album is the palpable feeling of ‘where next?’ ‘Silent Earthling’ is a record that makes predicting their next stop somewhat impossible, a sentiment that Calvert echoes, “There are still some ideas and ambitions we have for our sound that we haven’t yet explored. I think we would like to keep the ball rolling and be more prolific so that we can really push our potential.”
Three Trapped Tigers are:
Matt Calvert – guitar & keys
Tom Rogerson – keys
Adam Betts – drums

One thought on “THREE TRAPPED TIGERS Signs to Superball Music; Releases New Song & Announces New Album ‘Silent Earthling’ due out on 4/1

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Screamer Magazine Tank Tee or Vee