Posted on

For Real,” another previously unreleased song from and The Heartbreakers, is debuting today. Throughout his storied career, Petty did everything with authenticity—putting the music and his first. It is this sentiment that Petty sings about in the poignant and autobiographical song “For Real.”

Listen to/share “For Real” HERE.

“For Real” is featured on Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers: The Best Of Everything, due March 1 via Geffen Records/UMe as a supplement to last year’s critically lauded, career-spanning box set An American . The Best Of Everything was born from Petty’s long-term desire to release what he believed to be his greatest hits and strongest material across his four decades of songwriting.   

Petty’s family and -mates rallied together once again to fulfill his dream. Rather than chronological order, the special cross-label collection was sequenced as a hard-hitting playlist giving the entire catalog equal prominence, including songs from his solo projects, songs with world-class musicians The Heartbreakers, as well as essentials from the reformed Mudcrutch. Pre-order is available HERE.

The Best of Everything will be released simultaneously as a 2-disc CD featuring deluxe packaging, LP editions in both black and clear vinyl, and in all formats. The 38-track set also includes an additional previously unreleased song: an alternate version of the title track, which restores a never-before heard second verse to the song that was originally recorded for the and The Heartbreakers’ 1985 album, Southern Accents. Listen/share “The Best of Everything (alternate version)” HERE.

The set also features an essay on Petty written especially for this collection by his close friend, -winning screenwriter, director, author and journalist Cameron Crowe.

All recordings on The Best Of Everything are newly mastered from the original stereo master tapes and files by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, with supervision by Ryan Ulyate.

Moreover, Petty’s solo album Full Moon Fever has been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The is 5 platinum in the U.S., 6 platinum in and celebrates its 30th anniversary this April. Full Moon Fever features “Free Fallin’,” “I Won’t Back Down” and “Runnin’ A Dream,” all of which are on The Best Of Everything.


Disc 1

1.  Free Fallin’

2.  Mary Jane’s Last

3.  You Wreck Me

4.  I Won’t Back

5.  Saving Grace

6.  You Don’t Know How It Feels

7.  Don’t Do Me Like That

8.  Listen To Her

9.  Breakdown

10.  Walls (Circus)

11.  The Waiting

12.  Don’t Come Around Here No More

13.  Southern Accents

14.  Dream (No. 2)

15.  Dreamville

16.  I Should Have Known It

17.  Refugee

18.  Girl

19.  The Best Of Everything (Alt. Version)

Disc 2


2.  Learning To Fly

3.  Here Comes

4.  The Last DJ

5.  I Need To Know

6.  Scare Easy

7.  You Got Lucky

8.  Runnin’ A Dream

9.  Plan B

10.  Stop Draggin’ My Around (feat. Stevie Nicks)

11.  Trailer

12.  Into The Great Wide Open

13.  Room At The Top

14.  Square

15.  Jammin’ Me

16.  Even The Losers

17.  Hungry No More

18.  I Forgive It All

19.  For Real


What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.