Posted on

In honor of the 25th anniversary of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers’ 1996 album Songs and Music from the Motion Picture “She’s The One,” and to continue the celebration of the prolific Wildflowers era of Tom’s career, the Petty family and Warner Records are unveiling a remixed, remastered and reimagined version of the album: Angel Dream (Songs and Music from the Motion Picture “She’s The One”). The reissue will be released on limited-edition cobalt blue vinyl this Saturday, June 12 (Record Store Day), with the CD, digital and black vinyl release following on July 2.
The new title is a nod to the opening track on the album, “Angel Dream No. 2,” which is available on all streaming services today. This morning, Tom’s daughter Adria Petty, wife Dana Petty, longtime engineer and co-producer Ryan Ulyate, as well as Heartbreaker Benmont Tench spoke with David Fricke about the album and played the song, along with other unreleased tracks on SiriusXM’s Tom Petty Radio. This interview will rebroadcast throughout the weekend and will be available of the SXM app. Watch/share the visualizer for “Angel Dream No. 2” below.

“‘She’s The One’ was originally a great way to include some of the songs that didn’t make it on to Wildflowers, but it has its own thing to it, its own charm, and putting it out now in a restructured form makes for a sweet little treat. At the time in the studio, it was fun working as a band to improvise the scoring cues for the movie rather than playing to preset click tracks and a written score. And It was interesting to try to cut covers of others’ songs for a record, instead of learning covers just for live shows. We got a nice vibey version of Beck’s song and I’ve always loved Lucinda’s song ‘Change the Locks,’ so I was more than happy to cut it with our band. Oh, and this album has ‘Angel Dream’ on it, one of the loveliest songs Tom ever wrote.”Benmont Tench
“There’s some cool stuff on this record that has never come out before. I especially love the JJ Cale song ’13 Days.’ We had a lot of fun playing that song live and it’s great to have a recording of it from the studio. ‘Supernatural Radio’ is extended with some great jamming interplay within the band, which I’m very proud of. The Heartbreakers could be really amazing and spontaneous. I hope you enjoy these little gems as much as I do.”Mike Campbell
“It seemed like we approached the whole thing with a very spontaneous mood. I like things that way, I don’t—I don’t like to over-plan too much. It was terrific fun, we had a great time doing it.”Tom Petty (from the 1996 “She’s The One” EPK video interview)
“These songs are extremely special. I am grateful this record is getting the recognition it deserves. The remix Ryan Ulyate did sounds amazing, and the unreleased gems are a lovely bonus. Annakim, Adria, and I took a lot of time finding artwork that reflects the mood of the album. I think we finally achieved that with Alia Penner’s work. It is surreal and beautiful, just like life during that time.”Dana Petty
Ryan Ulyate remixed the audio for the reissue and worked with Tom on the mixes before his passing. The song selection was designed to work as a Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers album rather than a film soundtrack, and four unreleased tracks were added —”One of Life’s Little Mysteries” (written by Tom), “Thirteen Days” (JJ Cale cover), “105 Degrees” (another Tom original), and “French Disconnection” (an instrumental in the same vein as the instrumentals on the original album). An extended version of “Supernatural Radio” is also included.
The original 1996 album included several songs that were left off of the final Wildflowers track list but were recently featured in 2020’s critically lauded Wildflowers & All The Rest collection. Angel Dream (Songs and Music from the Motion Picture “She’s The One”) will replace the existing physical versions of the soundtrack, although the original release will remain on DSPs in addition to the new album. Angel Dream (Songs and Music from the Motion Picture “She’s The One”) is available for pre-order now.

Album artwork by Alia Penner


1. Angel Dream (No. 2)
2. Grew Up Fast
3. Change The Locks
4. Zero From Outer Space
5. Asshole
6. One of Life’s Little Mysteries
7. Walls (No. 3)
8. Thirteen Days
9. 105 Degrees
10. Climb That Hill
11. Supernatural Radio (Extended Version)
12. French Disconnection
Connect with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers 

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.