Posted on

On the heels of their second album ‘Suburbia‘, FANS OF THE DARK have announced the release of a new covers EP, ‘Cover Me‘ on December 9, 2022.

The band covers tracks by Balance, Blue Öyster Cult, REO Speedwagon, and Rush, all of whom have been an influence on the band’s style.

A single and video for the Balance cover, “In For The Count” is out today.

Watch the Video Here:

As with ‘Suburbia‘, drummer/songwriter Freddie Allen and vocalist Alex Falk are once again joined by guitarist Oscar Bromvall and new bassist Rickard Gramfors for the ‘Cover Me‘ EP.

The quartet’s musical prowess displayed on that album is perfectly suited to tackle the four artists and tracks on this EP. The songs were also picked specifically for having connections to the overall theme of the band’s second album: the world where the band grew up and where they first got in touch with hard rock music, horror films on VHS, 80’s teen culture, and all else that shaped them – the suburbs. And also because, quite simply, the band loves the songs.

Like ‘Suburbia’, ‘Cover Me’ was produced and mixed by multi-talented musician and producer Lars Fredrik Swahn (Dungen, The Amazing) and co-produced by Allen.

FANS OF THE DARK is an exciting new band formed in the summer of 2020 by Freddie Allen, drummer and main songwriter, and lead vocalist Alex Falk. The pair went to high school together in Stockholm and after a few years reconnected recently with a vision to create a band which would mix the melodies and approach of classic and melodic rock with elements of the great metal music of the ’80s.

Their musical output over the course of their first two albums is one of the most exciting things you’ll hear emerging from the fruitful melodic rock in Sweden, showcasing a tight, inventive musical approach with outstanding vocals.

Cover Me’ Track List:

  1. In For the Count (Balance cover)
  2. Dancin’ in the Ruins (Blue Öyster Cult cover)
  3. In My Dreams (REO Speedwagon cover)
  4. Subdivisions (Rush cover)



Alex Falk – vocals

Oscar Bromvall – guitars

Rickard Gramfors – bass

Freddie Allen – drums





What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.