Posted on

Watch Canadian progressive metal luminaries HEAVEN’S CRY perform their stunning rendition of the Rush hit, “Jacob’s Ladder” in their brand new music video recorded live from Petit Campus in Montreal. 

HEAVEN’S CRY – “Jacob’s Ladder” 

The video was filmed by Benoit Nantel, directed & edited by Sylvain Auclair and mixed by Pierre st-Jean & Michel Coulombe. 

 “As long time fans, Rush has been a major influence for everyone in the band. We decided to treat ourselves and cover one of our favorites during our shows last September supporting Persefone! Here’s our take of Jacob’s Ladder recorded live at Petit Campus in Montreal” states HEAVEN’S CRY guitarist Eric Jarrin.

Hailing from the city of Montreal; HEAVEN’S CRY originally formed in the early 1990s as a progressive rock band with a metal tangent and began with Pierre St-Jean (vocals, guitars) and Sylvain Auclair (vocals, bass) joining forces to build a spellbinding, dual-voice-oriented band. After opening for bands like MARILLION and SAGA, and signing with Canadian label Hypnotic Records in 1995, HEAVEN’S CRY released their first album, Food For Thought Substitute (1996). Following that album came Primal Power Addiction which was released in Europe in October 2002 on the reputed Dutch label DVS Records. The feedback was enormous, propelling HEAVEN’S CRY to travel to Europe to be part of the ProgPower festival in The Netherlands and tour with THRESHOLD in Belgium, Germany and Denmark. The album was released in North America in March 2003 and the band performed in Canada in support for bands like ANVIL, PLANET X, ARENA and NIGHTWISH throughout 2004.

After a seven-year hiatus, HEAVEN’S CRY reformed and signed to Prosthetic Records. Consisting of Pierre St-Jean on vocals/guitar, Sylvain Auclair on vocals/bass, Eric Jarrin on guitars, and René Lacharité on drums; HEAVEN’S CRY released Wheels of Impermanence in 2012 and continued playing shows and festivals worldwide. Following Wheels of Impermanence came the band’s critically acclaimed fourth full length album, Outcast in 2016. This album continues where 2012’s Wheels of Impermanence left off, pushing HEAVEN’S CRY to the forefront of the modern progressive metal scene.

Outcast is a concept album, one that takes examines the corruption of governments around the world and incites humankind to rally up and fight this, which is key to our survival and growth. Produced by the band along with Yannick St-Amand, Outcast is available now at:

Pierre St-Jean – Vocals/Guitars
Sylvain Auclair – Vocals/Bass
Eric Jarrin – Guitars
René Lacharité – Drums

Food For Thought Substitute (1996)
Primal Power Addiction (2002)
Wheels of Impermanence (2012)
Outcast (2016)

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.