Posted on

Metalcore has always been unfairly criticized since its inception in the 1980s when the infusion of extreme metal and hardcore punk hit the music scene. Some may argue that Metalcore can even be traced back to Motorhead in the 1970s. However, it wasn’t until the 2000s that it acquired mainstream success among the masses when bands like Killswitch Engage and Atreyu showed up on the music charts. The genre was becoming increasingly popular as it was commonly tied to the social media site MySpace in 2003 popularizing the Metalcore culture. Killswitch Engage became the first metalcore band to release an album that was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) for their 2004 album The End of Heartache and 2006 album As Daylight Dies. Now in 2023, Metalcore has become one of the most beloved genres garnering several Grammy awards and nominations in recent years. Oni looks to be on their way to being one of the best metalcore bands around. The Seven Line delivers from start to finish featuring an impressive list of collaborations with Howard Jones (ex-Killswitch Engage, Light The Torch), Kellin Quinn (Sleeping With Sirens), Michael Lessard (The Contortionist), Jared Dines (YouTube) and Sueco (solo artist). No stranger to collaborations, Jake Oni co-wrote one of the last songs recorded by Linkin Park’s Chester Bennington before he passed away. Oni has also had the pleasure of working with everyone from Dave Ellefson to Iggy Pop during his career.

The Silver Line starts with the explosive exuberance of the album’s fourth single Silhouette with its electronic rock to modern metal through its catchy melody and intense vocals. Silence In A Room Full of Lies features YouTuber Jared Dines. In 2021, Dines collaborated with Howard Jones as part of a project named Sion. Silence In A Room Full of Lies opens with a sexy groove fueled by heavy growls and instills a classic dose of old-school Metalcore. While the entire album is undoubtedly an album of the year contender, the breakout song was track seven titled Aura featuring Howard Jones. Oni had collaborated with Jones before citing it as a collaboration between friends. With remnants of Oni’s signature style colliding with Jones’s critically acclaimed vocals in juxtaposition with the intense power he brings to the track, it is easy to see why this will hail as the best track on the album. Underneath My Skin brings Sleeping With Sirens frontman Kellin Quinn to the party and it’s a party you will not want to leave. Cyanide hits hard with a heavy drum riff that is put into high gear with Oni’s powerhouse vocals navigating from screamo to melodic and has the power to convey emotions on a deep level beyond past records. The Silver Line consists of clarity through and through with its raw, out-of-the-box, while staying true to Oni style. Oni has outdone themselves with The Silver Line and it’s easy to jump the gun and visualize this as possibly the best album of 2023.

Website: https://www/ OniBand to pre-save the record now and purchase

Instagram: @thomniband 

Facebook: (2) Facebook

The Silver Line Track List

  1. Silhouette
  2. Spark ft. Sueco
  3. Underneath My Skin ft. Kellin Quinn 
  4. Silence In A Room Of Lies ft. Jared Dines
  5. Cyanide
  6. The Dread ft. Justin Hill (SikTh)
  7. Aura ft. Howard Jones (ex-Killswitch Engage, Light The Torch) and Josh Gilbert (ex-As I Lay Dying, Spiritbox)
  8. Armageddon ft. Michael Lessard (The Contortionist)
  9. Burns My Soul

Like Screamer Magazine?  You can help us in the fight to keep Rock and Metal alive by making a purchase from our Online Store.  Thank you for your support.  Keep on rockin’.


What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.