Posted on

The dog days of summer are heating up, and the members of The Winery Dogs are all off touring the world with other projects.  Never fear, dog lovers!  Like a freshly filled kiddie pool on a sweltering summer day, relief is on  the horizon.  The Winery Dogs have announced a new DVD concert film, set for release on August 4th.   Dog Years: Live In Santiago & Beyond 2013-2016,  is a nearly 100 minute excursion into their two studio albums.

Recorded in Santiago Chile in May of 2016, on their last world tour, this set is a complete glimpse into an entire show that you can’t get from a one or two song video from the internet.  Everything you would expect is here.  Richie Kotzen’s unique guitar skills and soulful voice are well on display.  Also present is Mike Portnoy’s intricate timekeeping on the drums, as well as his playful hamming for the camera.  Billy Sheehan’s fingers roam the entire neck of his bass guitar.  It would be a mistake to only expect the expected from this DVD set, however.

This is a trio of accomplished musicians, and their “side project” is meant to play live.  There is a tremendous energy that the three create.  The Winery Dogs are able to deliver pitch perfect harmonizing vocals.  Sheehan and Kotzen exhibit one of their signature sounds, simultaneous noodling in several songs.  It appears as though, for each of the individuals, The Winery Dogs is a vehicle for each of them to play in a style, free from rigorous construct, and allow each of them to express themselves in ways they might not otherwise be able.  Yet, the songs are tight and the walls of song structure are never damaged.

The opening number, Oblivion, sets the tone for the set, with high energy and a catchy chorus.  In the middle of the set, Time Machine hits on all cylinders with its sinister riff and haunting vocals.  There are a few slower songs mid-set.  One of these is Fire, which is performed with just Kotzen and an acoustic guitar on the stage.  The other is Think it Over, this tune demonstrates Kotzen’s piano skills and soulful voice.  The finale of the set is Elevate, which finishes things off with great energy.  The band has released a trailer for the set featuring this song on their records company’s website (link below).

The set comes in two versions, and is available for pre-order now both on and through their record company’s website (link below).  There is a deluxe edition, which contains a Blu-Ray disc and one DVD of the concert, including eight music videos from their first two albums. Also included in the deluxe edition is two CD’s of the concert audio as well as a five song EP of previously unreleased songs.  The standard edition is a Blu-Ray disc of the concert and the eight music videos as well as the five song EP.  The EP is highlighted by a version of the Gary Wright tune from the 70’s Love is Alive.  Anyone familiar with the version of Elvin Bishop’s, Fooled Around and Fell in Love, from their Unleashed in Japan, should appreciate this gem.

Either edition of this set should give fans of The Winery Dogs a bone to chew on until the pack is back.


  1. Oblivion
  2. Captain Love
  3. We Are One
  4. Hot Streak
  5. How Long
  6. Time Machine
  7. Empire
  8. Fire
  9. Think It Over
  10. Mike Portnoy Drum Solo
  11. The Other Side
  12. Billy Sheehan Bass Solo
  13. Ghost Town
  14. I’m No Angel
  15. Elevate
  16. Regret
  17. Desire



Time Machine
I’m No Angel
Captain Love
Hot Streak



  1. Criminal
  2. The Game
  3. Solid Ground
  4. Love Is Alive
  5. Moonage Daydream

One thought on “THE WINERY DOGS – Dog Years: Live In Santiago & Beyond 2013-2016

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.