Posted on

Get in everyone!  We’re going for a ride.  Seether are going to transport you back to the grunge rock era of the early 1990’s, with musical similarities to the iconic sounds of Nirvana, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains and Foo Fighters.  Three years after releasing their highly acclaimed album Poison The Parish, the band are set to release their eighth full-length album Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum on August 28, 2020 on Fantasy Records.  The South African natives have entertained the masses for over 20 years with countless hits, and if the releases of the first two singles, Dangerous and Bruised and Bloodied are any indication, there will be several more, and could very well put this masterfully written album on many “Top Album of the Year” lists.  So, if you’re ready, strap in and let’s go!

With everything currently going on in the United States and world, Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum could be the anthem that’s needed, but not in a literal sense.  The album’s title translates to, “If You Want Peace, Prepare For War,” which for music, can be a good starting point.  The 13-track album was produced by lead singer/guitarist Shaun Morgan, and engineered and mixed by Matt Hyde, who has worked with bands like Deftones and AFI.  Morgan along with his bandmates, Dale Stewart (bass, backing vocals), John Humphrey (drums), and newcomer Corey Lowery (lead guitar), formerly of Saint Asonia, created an album that is rich in cleverly-written lyrics, brilliant mixes of guitar and percussion and a newly ventured style, which will be satisfying enough to any music lover and should garner plenty of repeat listens.

With the angst in Morgan’s voice/lyrics, catchy chorus lines and well-placed instrumentals, the first two released tracks, Dangerous and Bruised and Bloodied, have already gained tons of attention and have set the tone.  For the rest of the album, you’re taken on an emotional journey of life, loss, and anger, through the tracks, Liar, Buried In The Sand, Failure, and Drift Away, before closing out with Written In Stone, which closely resembles the vocal and instrumental style of Alice in Chains.

Seether hit it out of the park with Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum.  Even with the high praise received from their last album, Poison The Parish, they may have outdone themselves.  The distinct 90’s musical vibe combined with the traditional nuances of the current rock standard, Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum should appeal to a wide range of listeners.  Pre-order here or pick up/download the album on August 28, 2020.  Also, be sure to catch them live in a city near you on their next tour.


  1. Dead And Done
  2. Bruised And Bloodied
  3. Wasteland
  4. Dangerous
  5. Liar
  6. Can’t Go Wrong
  7. Buried In The Sand
  8. Let It Go
  9. Failure
  10. Beg
  11. Drift Away
  12. Pride Before The Fall
  13. Written In Stone

Seether Online: 


2 thoughts on “SEETHER – Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum – album review

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.